Brgy. Ayala Alabang


Barangay Ayala Alabang, in terms of land area, is the third largest barangay in Muntinlupa City, Philippines. A large portion of it came from Barangay Alabang. Its land area of 6.949 km2 (2.683 sq mi) includes Alabang Town Center, Ayala Alabang Village, El Molito, and Madrigal Business Park. Barangay Ayala Alabang is located around 13 miles (21 km) south of the capital Manila.


Barangay Ayala Alabang was created by Batas Pambansa Bilang 219 on March 25, 1982. It was originally a part of Barangay Alabang. It was separated from Barangay Alabang and "constituted into a distinct and independent barangay" named Barangay New Alabang by Batas Pambansa Bilang 219 which was passed and approved on March 25, 1982. The name was changed to Barangay Ayala Alabang in November 2003, after the public hearing conducted by the City Government of Muntinlupa for this purpose. In compliance of Section 3 of Batas Pambansa Bilang 219 which provides that "the first barangay officials shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected or appointed and qualified", then President Ferdinand E. Marcos appointed Don Enrique Zobel as the first Chairman of Barangay Ayala Alabang and Gumersindo Leuterio, Benito Araneta, Edgardo Gatchalian, Mario Torcuator, Jaime Matias and Inigo Zobel as the first councilmen.The first elected Barangay Chairman was Vicente Chua who was inducted into office in 1989, along with the elected kagawads: Oscar Antiquera, Alfred Xerez-Burgos Jr., Francisco Umali Sr., Wilma Palafox, Rolando Pineda and Ramon Fernandez.


Language »