Muntinlupeños now have one thing less to worry about for the duration of the pandemic as the current leadership unite under one banner and ensure the continuous delivery of excellent public service.

Incumbent Representative Ruffy Biazon and Mayor Jaime R. Fresnedi have allied under the “One Muntinlupa” unity party led by Biazon to make sure the economic gains and best practices of the last nine years continue to be enjoyed by Muntinlupeños and even by transient workers based in the City.

Mas makakampante ngayon ang ating mga kababayang Muntinlupeño sa harap ng pandemya (Muntinlupeños can be more confident now in this pandemic),” Biazon said of the unity force. Under the One Muntinlupa slate, Biazon will be the mayoral candidate while Fresnedi runs for Congress. “The services such as scholarships, benefits, and relief packages that have helped many of our kababayan survive will definitely continue. Together, we will survive and overcome,” Biazon said.

“Elections tend to cause significant uncertainty in the people, which is why they can be divisive as voters choose candidates they think can make life better for them,” Fresnedi added. “By joining our vision and resources, Congressman Biazon and I make sure that the benefits that Muntinlupeños have enjoyed for the last nine years will continue, and can even be made better.”

In an interview, Fresnedi said his first order of business should he win as Congressman is to lobby for the creation of an additional congressional district in Muntinlupa. “Isa sa mga una kong isusulong ay ang additional congressional district para sa Muntinlupa. Ang population ng aming lungsod ay tamang tama na para sa isa pang congressional district,” Fresnedi noted.

To date, Muntinlupa City has a population of 543,445 according to the 2020 Census of Population and Housing. The population requirement for the creation of a congressional district is 250,000 residents per Article VI, Sec.5 of the 1987 Constitution.

Fresnedi also vowed to sponsor bills of national relevance that will not only benefit the people of Muntinlupa but also the whole country.

In Fresnedi’s six terms as mayor (1998-2007, 2013-present), Muntinlupa experienced unprecedented economic and social growth, culminating in recognitions such as the ISO 9001:2008 certification, Most Business-Friendly LGU by the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI), Seal of Good Local Governance from the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), and the Seal of Child-Friendly Local Governance, among others. Fresnedi advocated an Eight-Point Program of Governance which prioritized education, health care, and economic development, driven by numerous scholarships and training programs and the construction of schools and health facilities.

Likewise, in his five terms as lone district Representative (2001-2010, 2016-present), Biazon has continuously championed in Congress measures that would promote and protect the plight and welfare of his constituents in Muntinlupa City and the Filipino people in general.  As of this writing, Biazon has already filed more than a hundred proposed measures and various resolutions on defense and security; local governance and public order; poverty alleviation/social justice; education; environment; agriculture; housing; and maritime, air and land transportation and safety.

Biazon also served from 2011 to 2013 as Commissioner of the Bureau of Customs where he initiated a wide range of reforms, including pushing for the passage of the Customs Modernization and Tariff Act (Republic Act No. 10863). Fresnedi meanwhile started his service to Muntinlupa when he was appointed Municipal Attorney and later as OIC Vice Mayor in the aftermath of the 1986 People Power uprising.

Both Biazon and Fresnedi currently offer scholarships for poor but deserving students, purposely investing for the future through education, and laying the foundations of long-term economic development as a means to peace and security in Muntinlupa City.

Joining Biazon and Fresnedi in One Muntinlupa are Artemio “Temy” Simundac for Vice Mayor, District 1 Councilors: Coun. Atty. Raul Corro, Coun. Allan Rey Camilon, Coun. Paty Katy Boncayao, Coun. Alexson Diaz, Coun. Ivee Arciaga-Tadefa, Coun. Ting Niefes, Ms. Rachel Arciaga, and Mr. Jedi Presnedi, District 2 Councilors: Coun. Francis Ian Bagatsing, Coun. Mark Lester Baes, Coun. Engr. Marissa Rongavilla, Coun. Engr. Arlene Hilapo, Coun. Engr. Mamerto Sevilla Jr., Coun. Cornelio Martinez, Ms. Luvi Constantino, and Ms. Letty Santiago.

*Source: Public Information Office