Munti Council passes resolution recognizing US Open Nine-Ball champion Carlos Biado

In recognition of his recent feat in the highly coveted US Open title in billiards, the Muntinlupa City Council passed a resolution congratulating Filipino pool player and Muntinlupa resident Carlo Biado.

Mayor Jaime Fresnedi approved Resolution No. 2021-542 on Monday congratulating Biado for emerging as champion in the U.S. Open Nine-Ball Competition held in Atlantic City on September 19.

Biado ended a 27-year drought for the Philippines in the US Open Pool Tournament by winning against Aloysius Yapp from Singapore.

Since its founding in 1976, championship titles were dominated by Americans until 1994 when the most-winning non-U.S. player in the event’s history, Efren Bata Reyes from the Philippines, was the first non-American victor.

The City Council lauded Biado’s achievement noting that “such a feat is a testament that talent, coupled with sacrifice and hard work, is always a formula to success.”

The local resolution was sponsored by Councilors Atty. Raul Corro, Alexson Diaz, Paty Katy Boncayao, Louisito Arciaga, Allan Rey Camilon,, Ting Niefes, Stephanie Teves, Ivee Rhia Tadefa, Marissa Rongavilla, Francis lan Bagatsing, Mark Lester Baes, Mamerto Sevilla Jr., Arlene Hilapo, Cornelio Martinez, Walter Arcilla and Kenichi Takagi Jr.

Carlo Biado, originally hails from Nueva Ecija, is presently residing in Southern Hills in Soldiers Village, Muntinlupa City.

Biado’s professional career includes playing in the WPA [World Pool-Billiard Association] World Ten-ball Championship in 2015, the Men’s 9-Ball event of the 2017 World Games, 2018 WPA World Nine-ball Championship, and 2019 WPA Players Championship.

His current WPA ranking is No. 3 and he is the only player from the Philippines in the top 10. He earned medals for billiards and snooker at the 2019 Southeast-Asian Games-Men’s 9-ball doubles.

Biado is slated to compete in the 2022 Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games in Thailand, Vietnam SEA Games, and World Games in Alabama.

*Source: Public Information Office